Academia Europaea
Erasmus Medal

Academia Europaea
The Academy of Europe

An award of the Academia Europaea Erasmus Medal,

Tuesday 5th September 2017, at the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest

The Council of the Academia Europaea are pleased to award the

 Erasmus Medal to the internationally renowned economist

Professor Andreu Mas-Colell MAE

The Erasmus Medal of the Academia Europaea is awarded on the recommendation of the Council, to a member who has maintained over a sustained period, the highest level of international scholarship and recognition by peers.

Professor Mas-Colell will deliver the 2017 Heinz-Nixdorf Erasmus Lecture:

“Is the era of work ending?”

Sponsored by

The laudation will be given by Professor Sergiu Hart MAE, Jerusalem

Professor Andreu Mas-Colell

TITLE OF PRESENTATION: “Is the era of work ending?”


This will be a speculative talk on the future of work – and jobs – in economies subject to the scientific and technological advances associated with mechanization.  Three propositions will be defended: (i) that if it is made an overwhelming priority of public policy, the minimization of work is a possibility in the long-run, (ii) that the natural development of our managed economies will not necessarily lead to this outcome, and (iii) that this minimization of the role of work is an undesirable outcome that should not be fostered.


Professor Mas-Colell is an expert in microeconomics and one of the world’s leading mathematical economists. He is the founder of the Barcelona Graduate School of Economics and a professor emeritus in the department of economics at Pompeu Fabra University in Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain. He has also served several times as a Minister in the cabinet of the Catalan government. He has been Secretary General of the European Research Council (July 2009-August 2010). Summarizing his and others’ research in general equilibrium theory, his monograph gave a thorough exposition of research using differential topology.[6][7] His textbook on microeconomics, co-authored with Michael Whinston and Jerry Green, is the most used graduate microeconomics textbook in the world.

Mas-Colell is a foreign associate of the United States National Academy of Sciences, a foreign honorary member of the American Economic Association, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a member of the Academia Europaea, a member of the Institute of Catalan Studies, and a fellow of the Econometric Society. He has been President of the Econometric Society and of the European Economic Association. He has received honorary doctorates from the University of Alicante in Spain, the University of Toulouse and HEC Paris in France, the National University of the South in Argentina, and the University of Chicago in the United States. He is a recipient of the Creu de Sant Jordi, the highest civil honor of Catalonia, and of the King Juan Carlos Prize in Economics.

Further information:

The Award is sponsored by the Heinz-Nixdorf Stiftung

Further information about the Heinz-Nixdorf Stiftung can be found at:

TITLE AND FULL NAME: Professor Sergiu Hart

AFFILIATION: The Hebrew University of Jerusalem



Sergiu Hart is the Kusiel-Vorreuter University Professor, Professor of Mathematics, Professor of Economics, and Member of the Center for the Study of Rationality, at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He received his Ph.D. in mathematics at Tel-Aviv University in 1976. His previous academic appointments were at Stanford, Tel-Aviv, and Harvard Universities. The main area of research of Sergiu Hart is game theory and economic theory, with additional contributions in mathematics, computer science, probability and statistics. From 1991 to 1998 he was the founding director of the Center for the Study of Rationality of the Hebrew University in Jerusalem. He served as President of the Israel Mathematical Union in 2005-2006, and as President of the Game Theory Society in 2008-2010. In 1998 he was awarded the Rothschild Prize. Sergiu Hart was elected Fellow of the Econometric Society in 1985, Member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities in 2006, Member of Academia Europaea in 2012, and Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2016.